I have an assignment due tomorrow, just the conclusion and proofreading to go… but like the true form of a procrastinator, I decided to go on Instagram.

I went beyond just the natural scrolling of the normal feed (thanks Instagram for the Stories, what a tool for a procrastinator like me… many precious minutes/hour wasted).

The thing with InstaStories, unlike Snapchat, is that it can link you to another account, which links you to another and the next thing you know… you are 50 links in deep and you forgot how you ended up there or which account got you started with the chain of stalking links.

(I am a professional stalker and I know it)

After spending a good almost hour just going through linked links of links from the stories and still bored (more like trying to avoid my assignment), I decided to stalk myself… I had reached the mad point where everyone became boring and I found myself interesting.

Then I got myself into the links of my followers and followings (you know the ones you have on the top of your profile). Ever since I owned Instagram, there’s been a preconceived ‘ideal’ profile on instagram where it’s ‘better’ to have more Followers and Follow less people. There’s like apparently… an ‘ideal ratio’ to make you seem ‘popular’. I know this because I come from a girls school where the “Instafamous” status is highly favoured and everyone’s goal. I know people who take at least 2 days editing a single photo before posting…101 filter options later.

Clearly, I’m not that popular because my ‘Following’ is greater than ‘Followers’. Plus I don’t put that much effort into editing. Instafamous status takes hard work. I decided to filter my ‘Followings’, half of them were celebrities and half of them I had already fell out of love with since high school. I managed to get my following count down but it was still a great deal larger.ere’s where I’m really getting at.

Here’s where I’m really getting at.

I stumbled upon one of my “Instafamous” classmates from highschool during my filters. She has a solid following of almost 5000 followers and probably follows around 300. She wasn’t just a high school mate, we ended up in the same course, same university and even shared a couple of classes and lectures together. She’s currently a jet-setter after graduating and living in some exotic place in Europe. Naturally, her Instagram reflects it (as all instafamous people like to portray #jetsetter).

I was pretty sure she followed me and had followed more back in the day (she used to like my stuff), but somehow I decided to search the people she followed.

I wasn’t there.

She unfollowed me.

Okay, I’m not going to start a bitchfight, she’s halfway across the world now and clearly, as someone we have drifted apart so much that she even doesn’t see me worth being followed. But the thing is, we were friends. We actually hung out before in high school and university. I’m not talking about acquaintances here, people who had only met me a couple of times still followed me. Am I really that unworthy of a follow??
(People who say Instagram starts friendships… well they do the opposite too)

I know it sounds petty to make this an issue but it really got me thinking with the word ‘filter’.

Clearly, Jess has unfollowed me for unknown (or for the instafamous ratio) reasons. But truthfully, is there a reason to follow everybody?

Instafamous ratio issue aside, maybe filtering who we follow actually matters. The people we follow actually do make a difference in the way we feel, act and perceive. I’m lying if I said I’ve never copied some styles off the pictures I followed on Instagram, reacted to them, laughed at them or even be angered by them (case of FOMO when a friend goes to a party you weren’t invited to). Maybe some people are not worth following.

I follow people who I look up to, people who had been a part of my life, people who are in my life and people who (despite apart) I know I will meet again, people worth keeping.

Those who don’t fall in those lists, who don’t view you the same as you do to them. I don’t know why you should give them the “Follow” button. Sometimes it’s not just things, but people too, who need to be discerned.

Don’t waste your emotional space, time space and follow space.

A man with many friends can still be ruined, but a true friend sticks closer than a brother. Proverbs 18:24

A few hours of procrastination later, I will officially now complete my assignment.

Leave a Reply

