Ice Bucket Challenge. Facebook. Videos.

So 2 days ago I was challenged to do this viral fad that’s going all around America called the Ice Bucket Challenged. It’s to do with raising awareness for the Lou Gehrig’s Disease or Motor Neuron Diesease as it is known here in Australia. Well it is viral because everyone from George W. Bush to Bill Gates and every single A-List Hollywoodsie person was doing it. It floods my facebook wall and instagram and everything else. 

There’s really a mixed view relating to this challenge honestly. Some say it’s a waste of clean water and some people love it so much that they do it so many times, equivalent to taking icy cold showers just outdoors and clothed.

Personally I find this a brilliant idea. I know. I’m not usually sucked into fads like this.

It is about creating awareness. Of course some people lose the idea and do it for fun. But this #hashtagging system we have in the 21st century, this tool and the key to making things viral, it helped to raise awareness faster than any health magazine could do. It saved so much money as well. (Imagine all that publication costs and the trees to kill for magazines). Who picks up a health magazine nowadays anyway??

Nobody.

Exactly. That’s why I say it’s brilliant way to spread it. People actually donate too. I wouldn’t mine doing it for the sake of making it known, even if it’s just a couple of people, like my parents and a few walled up friends. Now if you ask anyone about Lou Gehrigs/MND/ALS, they would know and it’s a plus point. The main purpose of raising awareness is being achieved, with donations in the process. 

Funny thing was it creates a sense of attention-seeking character in a person. I admit that it happened to me as well when I did it. We were suppose to upload it on Facebook as a proof we did the challenge. Some people do it for the sake of fishing for likes, likes, Facebook Likes. It’s quite a big deal to some people. 

I created my video out of procrastination and I honestly didn’t wanna face the camera talking to it. I hate these kind of things. So on the bus on the way home yesterday, the idea of how my video would be popped into my head, the creative juices were falling like a waterfall. I stripped of my winter layers straight after I touched the door of my home and I didn’t stop until my video was uploaded. I was basically on full steam and I’ve never been that driven and focussed in ages. It just happened from a lightbulb moment in the bus.

It didn’t take as long as I expected it to be but I loved the product and the whole idea of it. I produced it. It made me feel so professional. Naturally I would want my video to get some amount likes, just to console myself that somewhere along the production, I was doing something right. The “likes” happened but it stopped at a low number. I would like to say I wasn’t crushed, but bits of me deep in the inside knows I’m lying. I consoled myself that maybe overnight I would get some more, I was hoping for a hundred.

There weren’t any notifications the next day. I figured I should just leave it behind and just focussed on other stuff and telling myself.. Seriously this is such a fad, you said it yourself! Why on earth are you so worked up? Such a silly girl.

It wasn’t until I got back onto my Facebook when I realised –  My video got taken down.

What on earth okay. Even the notifications I received from last night, all the comments and everything. Wiped Out.

Now I’m not even sad it’s gone or unliked anymore, more of scared of what happened to it. Like this is such a violation of my privacy.

Who was here?
Did someone take it down?
Where did it go?

Beats me.

Anyways. I’ve uploaded it on Youtube because I reckon it’s much more reliable than Facebook since it’s getting so much heat from the media on it’s new Messenger app anyway. 

I am disappointed with myself with the way I actually felt yesterday. I understand people say it’s natural and it’s human nature that we want our stuff to be liked (which is why Facebook is so popular because of it’s like functions). Attention-seeking, no matter how great it is in a person, always exist in us. In the end of the day, God’s opinion matters more. He created me and I do matter. He believes in me and whatever I created it great in His eyes, like how what He created is amazing in mine. 

I am proud of my work and I’m sure He is too. 

Leave a Reply

